Mid-Point Summer Update

And just like that the 4th of July came and went. Summer always FLIES by way to quickly. I cannot believe it is already July 7th. Like when was it ever June?

I hope everyone had a festive 4th of July week! Mine was spent trying to calm my dog, Bumper, down because he thought we were under attack the entire time. He is NOT a fan of fireworks at all! The holiday was celebrated with SO MUCH ice cream. If you have picked it up yet, my family and I are ice cream LOVERS. Like I could eat ice cream for every meal. My dad and I stopped by Jeni’s Ice Cream for like the 5th time this summer. Jacob’s mom makes homemade cookies and cream ice cream for the 4th of July and I also eat wayyy to much of that as well. Oops..

On the 3rd, I went with my boyfriends family to watch some fireworks at the lake. Jacob works at a marina in Nashville and they always have a firework show on the 3rd. Bumper was terrified before the fireworks even started because it began to storm about 30 minutes before. He has recently started to hate thunder which is a new thing for him. We are working on it! I also learned that Bumper doesn’t like watermelon but instead he would rather just play fetch with the rind. On the 4th, we grilled out and just relaxed! It was a nice short work week for me which is always nice.

But honestly, I cannot believe that I am halfway through with summer. I only have one more week left of work because in exactly one week, I will be moving into my house in Johnson City! To say I am excited is an understatement!! The first thing I am going to do when I get there is paint my bedroom. (Stay tuned for before and after pics and all things home and decor.) I am sad that I only have one week left of work though. If you didn’t know, I nanny during the summer. I began working with a new family this summer and I really love the kids! It will be bittersweet on my last day.

Next Saturday is Bumper’s 2nd Birthday and you best belief I already bought his birthday decorations! I also made him a little dog book full of pictures. I made one for him when he was a puppy as well. I always take sooo many pictures of Bumper so I thought it was a great idea to make him a book from his past year. I am going to try to make one for him each year for his birthday. (I already know.. I’m extra. My blog isn’t called “Dog Mom Layne” for nothing.) I used Shutterfly because they always always have discounts and deals going on. I made the book through the Shutterfly app and it was seriously soooo easy! I highly recommend.

This upcoming fall semester, I will be starting my senior year of college. I am so excited for this year because I will actually be in the classroom as a teacher! I was finally placed at the elementary school I will be doing my residency at for this year and I am already in love with the school!! I went shopping at TJ Maxx because I am trying to slowly but surely trying to expand my teaching wardrobe. I found sooo many cute dresses! (Maybe I’ll do a Favorite Finds soon?)

As for my summer bucket list, I have already done soooo many of the things that I was wanting to do! I am actually really proud of how much I have already done this summer. I am hoping that I can complete the rest of the things on my bucket list with the last half of summer left.

I hope you had a great 4th of July and continue to have a great summer! Thank you so much for reading!

Make sure to follow along to see how the rest of the summer goes😊

Leave a comment